Prof. Suda joined the Ministry in January 2020 upon her appointment as the Principal Secretary, State Department for Gender, Ministry of Public Service and Gender. She previously served in various ministries as Chief Administrative Secretary (CAS) and/or Principal Secretary.

Among these include service as Chief Administrative Secretary and Principal Secretary in the State Department for University Education and Research, Ministry of Education. She also served as Chief Administrative Secretary, Ministry of Energy and as Principal Secretary in the State Department of Science and Technology in the Ministry of Education.

Professor Suda previously served as Secretary for Gender and Social Development, Ministry of Gender, Children and Social Development between 2007 and 2012. Prior to this appointment she served at the University of Nairobi as Director Board of Common Undergraduate Courses (BCUC) from 2002 t0 2007 and as the Director of the Institute of African Studies (IAS) Between 1999 and 2002.

She served in the National Commission on Gender and Development as well as in the Advisory Board of Women Enterprise Fund, Ministry of Gender, Children and Social Development.  She is currently the Chairperson of the Governing Board of African Institute for Capacity Development (AICAD).

The holder of a PhD in Rural Sociology from University of Missouri, in Columbia USA, Prof. Suda, is an academic scholar who attained full Professorship in Sociology at the Institute of African Studies, University of Nairobi. A Fellow of the Kenya National Academy of Sciences (FKNAS) Professor Suda, boasts extensive research experience in gender, family studies, social change and sustainable rural development.  She has published widely in international scholarly and peer refereed journals and co-authored a book. Prof. In recognition of her distinguished academics in the field of culture and education, she was honoured by the Ministry of National Education of the Republic of France and awarded Order of Academic Palms (Ordre des Palmes academiques).

Her distinguished service and contributions to national development have earned her State Honours: First Class Chief of the Order of the Burning Spear (C.B.S.) and the Second Class Elder of the Order of the Burning Spear (E.B.S.).